Macro Photography – Still Life

Macro photography of still life scenes was really fun for me to work on.  I love setting up a still life scene to photograph in general, so getting close up and seeing them in a different perspective was awesome.  I learned a lot about the precision and tact that it takes to get the still life macros just right.

For these pictures, I tried to have the same or similar settings to other macro photos I’ve taken, but with a bit less light.  I wanted to create more of a contrast between the darks and lights in the photos so I had a lower ISO (about 640) with a high aperture (around F/14) and a shutter speed that was fast enough to avoid camera shake (1/250).  With the right combination and lots of testing I was able to produce the pictures that I wanted and the right look overall.

Elsa Jensen-Letterpress Macro-Still Life

Letterpress Macro

Elsa Jensen- Lady Pearls-Still Life

Lady Pearls

Elsa Jensen-Downton Abbey Ringing-Still Life

Number Dial

Elsa Jensen-Downton Abbey Dial-Still Life

Number Dial

Elsa Jensen-The Timepiece-Still Life

The Timepiece

Elsa Jensen-Spectacles-Still Life

Old spectacles

Leave a comment